top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

BroadwayCon 2016!

So, this weekend I had the great pleasure to go to the very first Broadway convention. I had the saturday pass to go to the events that day. Today I will be sharing with you what happened at the event, pictures from the event and tips for next year.

The Marketplace-

By far, one of my favorite elements of BroadwayCon was the "Marketplace." This was a big room filled with tables for different vendors selling sick merchandise. One of the booths was th Lights of Broadway trading cards booth and I was completely fangirling. They had new packs of cards, buttons and a trading section. Another booth was for Playbill. They were selling playbills, tee shirts, calenders, magnets, mugs and even pajamas with playbills on them, I know right. One vendor even had shoes designed towards different plays and musicals. To say the least, there were lots of very cool vendors there.

The Free Stuff (Yeah!!!)-

One vendor had a free raffle where, if you entered the raffle, you spin a wheel to win a prize! Also, you get a free Broadwaycon bag with some stickers and postcards. Also, you get a Broadwaycon playbill! All around the event, you could collect different ribbons to stick onto the bottom of your badge. Also, the autograph booths and photo booths were completely free, all you had to do was sign up for a ticket about a week or two beforehand. This is a picture of me meeting the fun home cast and getting autographs!

The Events-

Some of the events I had the chance to go to were The Modern Musicals Singalong, The Broadway Fued, The Untold Stories of the Palace Theatre, The Fun Home Panel, Showtunes Karoake. There might have been more, my memory is just a little foggy. Out of the events, my favorites had to be the Singalong and the Fued. The Broadway Fued had guests like Jonathon Groff, Rob Mclure and Lesli Margherita. It was practically Family Fued, with Broadway questions. The Modern Musicals Singalong was fun because it was basically an event where a big playlist of showtunes was played and we all got to just party, dance and singalong. I think I really enjoyed this because I was finally able to have people to sing to showtunes with!!! It was honestly beautiful. Some of the songs played were 'I Believe' from The Book of Mormon, 'Come to the Fun Home' from Fun Home, 'Revolting Children' from Matilda. 'Candy Store' from Heathers, 'I Can Do Better Than That' from The Last Five Years.

(btw I got this adorable broadway hat from the Marketplace, it has a bunch of musicals on it!!)

Cosplay-

Now, I did not dress up for Broadwaycon, since it was my first convention and I wasn't sure how it would go. However I say about twenty Heather's there, a couple King George's and Hamiltons, about five Elphaba's, two G(ah)linda's, one Audrey Two, one Small Alison, two Roxie Hart's and I;m sure there's more. So, if your considering dressing up, DO IT! There were so many people cosplaying there and I was honestly wishing I had. Definitely going to go as Heather Chandler next year!!

That's all I can think of to talk about. I hope to see you all at Broadwaycon next year! I'm sad it's over but I had lots and lots of fun!!

Faith


bottom of page